toliveonpurpose

For where you treasure is, there will your heart be also…

Results: Day 3 of 21

I’m so excited to have completed 3 days of this discipline challenge! Three SUCCESSFUL days, I might add!

I was quite inspired by the notes that Crystal wrote for Day 3. I can TOTALLY relate to what she wrote and recently started realizing how the condition of the space around me affects the mood of my day. It makes sense, though, that if you wake up and there areΒ messes and clutter from the day (or days) before, then it’s kind of oppressive. I already feel like I’m “behind”. I can’t just wake up and choose how to want to spend my time. I feel like my work is already cut out for me, just having to clean up from the day before. Ugh! What a yucky feeling! So, Korry and I decided that we’d make this our goal – to clean/straighten up our kitchen, living room, and dining room at the end of the day, each day. I think it will get easier and easier as the habit sticks, since we will know the clean-up time is coming, we’ll work harder to start the process (or even just keep up with it) earlier in the day/evening. That is the goal. I’m looking forward to seeing the positive effects of this “small” change.

So, this is my “one small habit” that I will be working on. I already have a very long list of the habits I want to establish, once I get a handle on the ones I’m already working on. πŸ˜‰ I read ahead to the next day’s challenge, and much to my excitement, realized that I am already ahead of the game, since that is one task she asks us to do. I think it will be more exciting to tackle the new habits (instead of overwhelming), since I’ll be able to look back and see the success I’ve already had with the ones I’ve worked on, so I will be encouraged to keep on.

That’s all for now. I need to go and sort my mail. πŸ˜‰ I did not have time to open it all at once yet today, so now I will go and do that, and place each item in its appropriate file folder. I was excited to receive multiple pieces of mail today, so I can do that exercise and get to re-setting that habit in motion. πŸ™‚ Then I will be cleaning up before I turn in. Yay for baby steps! πŸ™‚

Β 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Results: Day 3 of 21

  1. Becky Haney on said:

    Go Beth Go! I will be your cheerleader today. I really am liking this 21 day challenge! I love the practical hands on advice.

    • Thanks, Becky! You are a great cheerleader! I’m wondering how your Christmas cleanup went. Hope your prayers were effective. πŸ˜‰ Are you doing the challenge, too, or just coming along as my cheerleader? I’m always excited to hear an insights you have to give… especially from someone who is a minimalist – something I will never be in this lifetime. πŸ˜‰

  2. Congrats on the progress, Beth! I’m a day or two behind in the tasks, but I’m finding the ideas and challenges to be helpful.
    I agree that I feel much less stressed on the days that the house is not a mess when I wake up. The planner I’m using suggests setting a timer for 10 minutes before bedtime and getting everyone to clean up together, trying to do as much as they can before the time runs out . I thought you could try this with Briana, maybe for only 5 mins since I’m not sure how long she can stay focused on one task. That way she can get in on the self-discipline too πŸ™‚

    • Awesome, Kim! Keep pressing on! It will be so worth i!
      Good idea for the 10 minutes. What we’ve been doing for Briana is having her clean up her toys and usually she does real well with it when we make it fun. Sometimes we try to beat the timer and get it done before it goes off! πŸ™‚ Luckily she doesn’t really have enough toys out at a time that it would take 5 minutes (tonight we did it in less than 3), unless they escape to other parts of the house or she gets distracted in the middle of cleanup. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

