toliveonpurpose

For where you treasure is, there will your heart be also…

Results: Day 4 of 21

Today was a good day. So happy to have been able to keep on with my new habit of the mail/paper sorting. Also continuing to leave the kitchen/living room/dining room “in order” at the end of the day. When I got up this morning, I thought someone broke in last night and cleaned it up for me! I LOVE LOVE LOVE waking up to that type of order! It was soooo refreshing! Korry said he appreciated it, too (he wasn’t able to help me with the cleanup last night since he was in deep in another project, so he REALLY could appreciate it), and he’s excited to keep it up since we got to see what “could be”. Definitely something I could get used to and it’s worth the sacrifice of the time and effort at the end of the day! I also know that keeping up with it on a daily basis will make it easier to do so many things. Just “cleaning” a space that is not cluttered, etc, is so much easier and almost “fun”! 🙂 Also, it’s easier to do a quick sweep and straighten up when entertaining guests – both planned or surprise. I won’t have days worth of “stuff” lingering around!

I have found that one of the biggest reasons I have problems with keeping up with “stuff”/”clutter” is that the stuff is random or doesn’t have a home. I heard a speaker talking about organization and one of her simple statements hit me: “You can’t organize clutter.” That was a big lightbulb moment for me! I mentioned before that sometimes I hang on to stuff that needs to be looked at, fixed, sorted, donated, etc (this is a battle with my frugal, cheapskate self!). I realize that I need to get better at making a decision about something right away, and if I don’t have time (or don’t want to make the time) to do research something or fix it within a reasonable amount of time, it just needs to go! Similarly, once I decide I’m getting rid of something, it needs to just go. And not just out to my car, but AWAY. Far away!!! I end up piling up stuff that is going (and usually to various places – friends, thrift store, consignment, etc) by the door. It’s soooo close to getting out of the house, but yet it’s still clinging on… I’m getting irritated by this! I am reevaluating if it’s even worth it to hang on to things until I see a friend to offer it to them or even the hassle of consigning, when it may not “make the cut” or maybe I can’t get to the consignment store for a time and it just sits there, in a heap, draining my focus and energy. Everything I seem to read about purging and de-cluttering, etc, talks about getting rid of the items ASAP. I can see why this is so necessary and I need to heed this advice! This is a new system to need to adopt. Just do it!

Well, back to the 21 day challenge. Today’s assignment is to make a list of the habits I want to establish, then choose the top 3 that would make the most impact if I were to begin implementing. Then she says to put the list aside and keep working on what I’m already working on. I like this idea. I actually had written them down on the second day, I think, because they were already swirling around in my head and I had to get them out! The one thing that is exciting to me is how one new good habit can help with other habits. For example, when I continue in my habit of keeping the mail/papers in order on a daily basis, it will make my end of the day cleanup much easier and quicker. I won’t have the piles to move, clean around, deal with. The piles won’t exist! This is a lovely concept. Both of these habits together (the mail sorting and the cleaning up at the end of the day) will make regular cleaning easier, too! It’s like a snowball effect and will just continue to boost my ability to be productive and effective on a daily basis! I do believe it will also put “time” back in my day. Time that I can choose to spend how I want, instead of constantly trying to catch up and keep up. It’s not fun feeling like I’m in a rat race!

I’m excited to begin working on another habit once I have these 2 firmly established. They say it takes 21 days for a habit to really be ingrained, so I don’t want to add any more on until I have a good handle on the first ones, although, let me tell you, the temptation is THERE!!! 🙂

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Results: Day 4 of 21

  1. Becky Haney on said:

    Beth I am a minimalist. Less is more.(And no I am not doing the challenge but am encouraged and learning too from your experiences.) I really appreciate the work and effort you are going through to get the order in life that you are looking for. Not that things need to ever be perfect, but having order is freeing! I understand the work(habitual living) that it does take, and so I have a lot appreciation for what you are doing! I think its awesome and I know how rewarding the result are and feel. Its all so worth it!

Leave a Reply

