toliveonpurpose

For where you treasure is, there will your heart be also…

Results: Day 5 of 21

Today’s assignment was becoming aware of potential obstacles to reaching my goal of developing my new habit (the main one I’m focusing on is the mail-sorting/paper-handling). I like this idea because it is great to be able to determine what I may be up against so I can watch out for it and not let it derail my efforts. There was some good information and practical tips in the recommended article on “5 Steps to Developing Discipline” by Michael Hyatt.

I feel like now I am equipped to handle the challenges that may come my way (or rather WILL come) since I’ve come up with a plan on how to handle them. Meanwhile, I’m loving the absence of piles in my kitchen! Now I just need to carve out some time to deal with the piles that have accrued while I was not using my file system! Baby steps. Bite-sized pieces. I will get there. πŸ™‚Β  I was just talking with my mom today about not beating myself up when I don’t reach a goal or accomplish something I had hoped to. Just reset the goal, make it something realistic and attainable, and press on toward it. The more I attain itty bitty goals, the more confidence and motivation I will have to tackle larger goals. πŸ™‚

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Results: Day 5 of 21

  1. Today, 1/14/12, is the first day I read through your blogs. I am proud of you! Organization is definitely a key step in creating a peaceful home -and it is something the entire family benefits from. Eventually, your efforts to tidy and file papers will be second nature as you establish the routine and categories/places for those papers you will save. I have found personally that once I begin a dreaded task -its not so dreadful, and I am inspired to accomplish the next looming job. At school, I also have a personal rule -to never leave a messy desk. Life can get demanding at times and there is only 24 hours in a day. So, I figure if I just keep moving and doing, the Lord has a way of blessing the time or maybe throwing in a “snow day” here and there! I don’t really know what blogging is all about so I hope I didn’t break any kind of forum rules -my apologies in advance if needed! I enjoyed reading your blogs -you are very articulate! “Keep moving forward” -(always timely advice Mom Love once gave me!).

  2. Katie Snyder on said:

    One of the obstacles that always gets me is an unexpected illness or medical problem (Our family seems to be having alot of these lately), I enter into survival mode, and any good habits or routines fly out the window. By the time I realize that I’m ready to go back to “normal life” it is like starting over again. I have learned that it is really important to hang onto some form of good habits and routines, even if it is just a small one (like straightening the kitchen every night, but not the other rooms) If I make sure I am at least doing some form of my new good habits every day, I manage to slide back in to everything without even realizing it. And definitely focusing on what you did manage to do instead of what you didn’t πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

