toliveonpurpose

For where you treasure is, there will your heart be also…

Results: Day 13 of 21

Wow. I feel like this period of 21 days is going fast. And yet I feel like there has been so much to think about, mull over and work on that I almost feel like it’s been forever. Weird.

Well, today’s challenge is about reading motivational books, specifically those related to self-discipline. I definitely love to read these types of books and always have. Problem is that I like reading them so much that I often end up in the middle of several at the same time, then something happens to get me off-track of reading and then I finish none of them. They end up back on my bookshelf with a bookmark partway through. By the time I pick them up again, I need to start all over because I’ve already forgotten what I’ve read! Yikes! This is frustrating. I like Crystal’s idea to set page number goals for each week. I feel like this is very realistic since it’s not another daily task to add to the list. My day is just not regimented enough to make sure this would get done every day. I’ve never been that regimented and that is fine with me. I like mixing up my routine (or getting it mixed up without my doing!), as long as I can still find the time to do these types of things over the course of the week. So, I will be choosing a book very soon to complete by this time next month, if not before then.

I have to just share an exciting victory for me tonight! 🙂 I started implementing the “15 minute” rule to get something accomplished (particularly for me, something I’ve been neglecting – due to “fear” or just laziness). I told myself I only had to tackle some piles of things to put away for 15 minutes. Well, the exciting thing is that I happened to have time to keep going even after the 15 minutes was up and since I was on such a roll, I wanted to complete the task. I did and I have to say that it really wasn’t as scary as I thought it would be and I feel GREAT now that it’s done. 🙂 So, that strategy can be very successful. Definitely helps to set ourselves up for success (just 15 minutes would have still been more than what I had done already)! It was exciting to have had even more success than I had anticipated. 🙂

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

