toliveonpurpose

For where you treasure is, there will your heart be also…

Results: Day 19 of 21

Wow. Only 2 more days left. This has certainly been a whirlwind for me. I already feel like I need a review. There’s been a lot to take in and ponder, as well as ACT on!

Today’s post has to do with “Getting it done early.” This is such a SIMPLE concept. Not EASY, but SIMPLE. I think it also has a lot to do with HABITS. A lot of the tips provided to help us to succeed in meeting deadlines, getting places on time, etc, have to do with being PREPARED and just doing things as they come, instead of waiting for later. This is so true. Crystal referred us to a post by Mandi Ehman from SimpleMom.net. Mandi says “Whenever possible, get it — whatever it may be — done early and eliminate the stress and frustration of being pulled in a million directions.” Isn’t this just so true?!?! Mandi says that “getting it done early” is the key to SUCCESS. Wow. How different would my day, my MOOD, my stress level be if I were to follow this in all areas of my life? A lot of it has to do with KEEPING UP, instead of letting things build up. Some of her practical ideas are PLANNING MEALS ahead (maybe weekly), PREPPING food all at once (cutting up veggies, dividing meats, etc), FOLDING LAUNDRY right out of the dryer, practicing the TOUCH-IT-ONCE rule to eliminate papers/clutter everywhere, PREPPING backpacks (or diaper bags in my case!) when you get home so they’re ready for the next day.

So, like I said- this concept is quite SIMPLE, but not EASY. But the benefits definitely are worth it! I know this from experience- especially when I PLAN ahead, it makes things go soooo much smoother. Then, if there is a BUMP in the road, or something skews the schedule, it’s not AS big of a deal and it’s easier to get back “on track”. Also, “just do it” pops into my head because it doesn’t involve THINKING- especially when it comes to the daily stuff- like putting things away, doing laundry, dishes, etc. I need to tell myself to STOP THINKING ABOUT IT so much and JUST DO IT! It will be so worth it and rewarding to have made the accomplishment. Plus, some of these things may just end up being new habits. Wouldn’t that be great? 🙂

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

